Laura’s debut essay collection, For Single Mothers Working as Train Conductors, won the 2017 Iowa Prize for Literary Nonfiction. The University of Iowa Press published it in June 2018.

The six winners of the 2017 Notting Hill Editions Essay Prize were announced at a ceremony in London, which doubled as the launch for the elegant little volume that contains all of the winning essays, including Laura’s “Losing the Nobel.” Congratulations to First Prize Winner William Max Nelson and the other winners. The book can be purchased at New York Review Books or Penguin Random House.

The award ceremony for the Notting Hill Essay Prize, included a discussion moderated by two of the judges, with five of the winners participating. It can be viewed here.

Please see here for a breakdown of the video.




For Single Mothers Working as Train Conductors events schedule:


Saturday, 9 June, 4:15 pm, Amplit Fest, New York City, Summer Reads Panel.

Thank you to Amplit producers Clare Smith Marash and Sarah Sala.


Friday, 15 June, 6 pmSecrets of Book Publishing Panel.

Thank you to my friend, colleague and former teacher, Sue Shapiro, who will be moderating


Tuesday, 26 June, 7 pm, Prairie Lights Bookstore, Iowa City.


Wednesday, 27 June, 7 pm, Book talk and signing, Barnes & Noble, Cedar Rapids, Iowa.


Saturday, 14 July, 7 pm, Volume Reading and Music Series at Spotty Dog Books and Ale in Hudson, NY.

Thank you to Hallie Goodman, fellow MacDowell Fellow and Volume curator.


Monday, 30 July, 8 pm, Scribblers on the Roof, Ansche Chesed Synagogue.

251 West 100th Street (corner of West End Avenue).


Thursday, 6 September, 6 pm, Rare Lung Disease Consortium 2018, LAM Research Conference and LAMposium in Cincinnatti, Ohio  (closed event).


Saturday, 8 September 3 pm, Slice Literary Writers’ Conference, Brooklyn, NY: panel moderator, “Finding Your Perfectn Agent Match: How to Know What They’re Looking For Right Now.”


Friday, 21 September, 12:30 pm, Google Cambridge (private event).

Thank you to my friend Christopher Small for arranging this.


Friday, 21 September, 7:30 pm, Papercuts J. P. Bookstore in Boston, Massachusetts.


Tuesday, 16 October, 7 pm, Foxdale Village Retirement Community (closed event).


Tour of the Carolinas, 10-12 December

The following three events in North and South Carolina will include discussions with old friend Elizabeth Kostova, author of The Historian, The Swan Thieves and The Shadow Land, and founder of The Elizabeth Kostova Foundation.

Monday, 10 December, 7 pm, Hub City Bookshop, Spartanburg, South Carolina.

Tuesday, 11 December, 6 pm, Malaprop’s Bookstore, Asheville, North Carolina.

Wednesday, 12 December, 7pm, M. Judson Booksellers, Greenville, South Carolina.